Should I Wear Solids or Patterns?

I cannot tell you how many times I hear at work, “I would never be able to pull that style off.”  The item that they are generally discussing would be our body con skirt.  Guess what ladies, you can pull that style off!  It is all about finding the right pieces of the style for your body type.  The first thing I do is break down my body so to speak.  What I mean by this is:  1. General size/height.  2. How big are the boobs?   3. How big is the butt.  4. What area do I want to emphasize?  Personally I’m only 5’ 4”, my boobs are little, and my butt is practically nonexistent. There are ways to emphasize certain areas to make them look either smaller or larger than they really are.  If I wanted to wear a body con skirt to “enhance” my rear end, I would put on a skirt that had a pattern.  Generally I would wear a solid color top to balance things out.  Too many patterns at once can result in a very undesirable affect (and who wants that?).  With the cooler weather you can even add leggings or tights with the outfit.

If I decide there are parts of my tummy I wish to hide, then I would simply reverse the theory.  I would dress myself in a solid color skirt and a top that had a cute pattern.  Now this is where some people make a mistake on what they can and cannot get away with.  Remember you want to flatter your body and slim it down.  You don’t wan’t to put on a top that is too tight and it give you the opposite affect (make you look bigger than you really are). All body types can get away with putting on an off the shoulder top with the skirt.  When I wear off the shoulder tops, I personally like to put a tank or cami with it.  A friend of mine shows an excellent example of this.

Now to show some examples of my favorites with the body con skirts!  Ladies, welcome to…color blocking 101!  I love to have fun with colors.  I think it is amazing how you can completely change an outfit just by wearing a solid ivory top and adding a different color cami and/or cardigan with a different color of body con skirt.  Keep in mind that you don’t want to go too wild, so stay with a theme of some sort.  Examples would be contrasting a solid white top with a solid black skirt.  Another would be earth tone colors.  If you decide you want to get funky, you can put on a dark purple top with a bright pink skirt.   The trick is to tie it in with just the right shoes.  Take a peek at another friend of mine below.  She opted to wear the “earth tone look.”

I hope this has given you a few new “looks” to try out at home.  I positively love to dress people at work, and now I get to do it at home too!!  Yay me 🙂 If you have any questions on what goes and what doesn’t, I’d be happy to help.  Simply leave a comment and I will respond with the advice.  I’d like to thank my models for dressing cute and allowing me to take their pictures and posting it for the world to see!  Coming soon will be a post with models that are sporting awesome tattoos!  Remember, inked girls love fashion too!!!

Until next time,

CreaturesWithInk

Leave a Reply

