The Salsa Experiment

Last weekend Adrianna Fischer and I headed out to try our hand at something new….Salsa Dancing!  We have never salsa danced before, so this was thinking completely “outside the box” so to speak.  The club that we selected offered a free lesson (1 hour) prior to the club officially opening.  The original plan was to show up at 8:00 p.m. so that we could learn some new moves.  Umm, that did not happen.  Here are a few of our antics that delayed our arrival:

1.  Even though we had previously selected our dresses for the evening, they still seemed wrong.  We were both adding to the cliche of trying on different dresses before we eventually deduced that we had no idea what others were wearing and finally wore what was comfy.  Which led to our second delay.

 

2.  The dress I had finally decided upon was a strapless number that needed some low heel basic pumps.  It is rather laughable that out of my entire shoe collection (ladies, I have a TON of shoes) I didn’t have a single pair of 2″ black heels.  The majority of mine are around 4″ or higher.  So out of all the shoe stores in our area, we arrived at Payless!  I purchased a very cute pair of pumps (with a coupon) under $22.00! 😀

3.  We then decided, or rather I decided, that I was starving.  Guess where we pulled through?  Was it a healthy restaurant?  That would be a negative, we pulled through McDonald’s!  “I would like a quarter pounder with cheese and a large Mr. Pibb please.”  Don’t worry, I worked off all of those nasty calories later on in the evening.

Finally, we arrive at our destination right before 9:00 p.m.  We were all in agreement that we needed to loosen up some so we headed to the bar and had a couple of drinks (shots were involved at one point).  😉  After that, it was like the guys knew we were loosened up and the dance requests started rolling in.  It was funny every time I had to inform my dance partner that I was new at this and that they would need to take it easy on me.  I can honestly say that there were two guys that danced so well, that they made me feel like I didn’t even have to think about the steps…it was automatic and AWESOME!  They were gently guiding me into all of the steps, spins, and eventually dips.  If you think for even a moment that our evening went off without a hitch, please keep reading and you are guaranteed to laugh your ass off!

Note to self for future Salsa events, don’t wear a strapless dress!!!  This particular partner dipped me so low that I actually touched my hand to the floor because I wasn’t sure if he had a good hold of me (I didn’t want to be dropped on my rear end in front of everyone).  So after being “dipped” I thought to myself, “Hmm, something doesn’t feel right.”  I looked down and WOOPS!  My dress had slipped down to my waist!!!  So after cussing myself out because of my own stupidity for wearing a strapless dress, I yanked it back up so my bra was no longer visible to the entire club.  CAUTION:  You know how in the movies during dance scenes there are walls upon walls of mirrors and you wonder if they are really like that?  I would like to inform you that they are.  I have no idea how many people saw my bra, but I have a feeling quite a few received a peep show.

After all of the entertainment for the evening, we ended up heading home around 1:30 a.m.  After a brief discussion we found that we were (again) hungry.  Considering the time, we only had about two options….White Castles or Taco Bell.  We opted for Taco Bell.  After zipping through drive thru we proceeded to our final destination for the evening with three things on our agenda.  1.  Immediately change into comfy clothes. 2.  Scarf down our food.  3.  Check/clean up our feet (Adrianna Fischer had some serious blisters from her heels) which fallowed by going to bed and passing the fuck out.  By the time we reached number 3 it was roughly 2:30 a.m. 😀

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Adrianna F
    Apr 13, 2012 @ 09:08:45

    ja ja ja ja ja…. I don’t even remember CONSIDERING White Castle. It went more like this…

    Me: You hungry?
    You: Kind of…
    Me: Taco Bell?
    You: hmm… that does sound really good
    Me: I’ll buy if you take us.
    You: *getintheleftlane*

    Reply

  2. Trackback: The Fischer & Foxx Project: ¡Salsa! (Part One) | In Search of the Silver Lining…

Leave a Reply

